Astronomy Essentials

Total lunar eclipse on November 8, 2022

Map of the Earth showing where November 8, 2022 lunar eclipse is visible.
View full map. | This image shows where the November 8, 2022, lunar eclipse is visible. Image via Dominic Ford from in-the-sky.org.

Total lunar eclipse

A total lunar eclipse sweeps across Asia, Australia, the Americas, and the Pacific on the morning of November 6, 2022.

Penumbral eclipse begins at 08:02 UTC on November 8 (3:02 a.m. EDT).
Partial eclipse begins at 09:09 UTC on November 8 (4:09 a.m. EDT).
Totality begins (moon engulfed in Earth’s shadow) begins at 10:16 UTC on November 8 (5:16 a.m. EDT).
Totality ends at 11:41 UTC on November 8 (6:41 a.m. EDT).
Partial eclipse ends at 12:49 UTC on November 8 (7:49 a.m. EDT).
Penumbral eclipse ends at 13:56 UTC on November 8 (8:56 a.m. EDT).
Maximum eclipse is at 10:59 UTC on November 8 (5:59 a.m. EDT).
Duration of totality: About 85 minutes.

A full moon is up only at night. And a total lunar eclipse can be seen from all of Earth that is experiencing night, while the eclipse is taking place. But some will see the eclipse better than others, depending on location. Some will see it at moonrise or moonset, when the moon is low in the sky. Lunar eclipses are safe to view with the unaided eye. Binoculars and telescopes enhance the view, but aren’t required.

Moon, constellation, saros

Greatest eclipse takes place 5.8 days before the moon reaches apogee, its farthest point from Earth for the month. So it’s a relatively small-sized moon during this eclipse. During the eclipse, the moon is located in the direction of the constellation Aries.

The Saros catalog describes the periodicity of eclipses. This November 8 total eclipse belongs to Saros 136. It is number 20 of 72 eclipses in the series. All eclipses in this series occur at the moon’s ascending node. The moon moves southward with respect to the node with each succeeding eclipse in the series, and the gamma value decreases.

The instant of greatest eclipse – when the axis of the moon’s shadow cone passes closest to Earth’s center – takes place at 10:59 UTC (6:59 a.m. EDT). This total eclipse is central, meaning the moon’s disk actually passes through the axis of Earth’s umbral shadow. During the eclipse, the moon is located in the direction of the constellation Aries.

Because they are so deep, such eclipses typically have the longest total phases. In this case, the duration of totality lasts almost an hour and a half: 85.7 minutes!

The path of the moon during the eclipse

Find the moon’s path with respect to Earth’s umbral and penumbral shadows below. You can visit timeanddate.com to get the exact timing of the eclipse from your location.

Ring showing Earth's shadow with moon dipping in at 12 o'clock and 5 o'clock positions plus red moon inside.
Morning of November 8: Total eclipse of the moon. Nearly 6 months after the May 2022 eclipse, the moon again slides into Earth’s shadow, creating a total eclipse. Viewers can see the eclipse best from the western U.S. Totality will last for over 85.7 minutes starting at 10:16 UTC and ending at 11:41 UTC. As a bonus, dim Uranus lies just 2 degrees east of the eclipsed moon. Chart by John Jardine Goss.
A map for the total lunar eclipse on November 8, 2022. It sweeps across Asia, Australia, the Americas, and the Pacific. Areas in white on the map will see the total eclipse, the line down the left side notes where greatest eclipse occurs. Shaded areas will see part of the eclipse and dark areas are where the eclipse is not visible. Note the difference between UTC and TD (terrestrial dynamical time, often abbreviated TT as well). Key to lunar eclipse maps here. Image via Fred Espenak.

Next eclipse and eclipse seasons

The total lunar eclipse of November 8, 2022, is preceded two weeks earlier by a partial solar eclipse on October 25, 2022. These eclipses all take place during a single eclipse season.

An eclipse season is an approximate 35-day period during which it’s inevitable for at least 2 (and possibly 3) eclipses to take place. The current October-November 2022 eclipse season will feature a partial solar eclipse on October 25 and a total lunar eclipse on November 7-8.

In 2023 we have another April-May eclipse season with a total solar eclipse on April 20, 2023, and a penumbral lunar eclipse on May 5-6, 2023. The October-November eclipse season includes an annular solar eclipse on October 14, 2023, and a partial lunar eclipse on October 28-29, 2023.

Maps and data

Covers of 3 of Fred Espenak's large-format eclipse publications.
Thank you, Fred Espenak, for granting permission to reprint this article. For the best in eclipse info – from an expert – visit Fred’s publications page.

What a total lunar eclipse looks like from our EarthSky community

Total lunar eclipse; shining orange and white moon on a dark blue sky background.
View at EarthSky Community Photos. | Our friend Doug Short in Anchorage, Alaska captured this photo on the dawn of May 26, 2021. He wrote: “This photo of the lunar eclipse was taken about 8 minutes before totality. At this point, the clouds rolled in and totality was completely obscured. From this far north (61 degrees) the moon was low in the sky, and the sky was relatively light.”

How to take photos of a lunar eclipse.

Submit your photo to EarthSky here.

Bottom line: A total lunar eclipse will take place on Tuesday morning, November 8, 2022. The path sweeps across Asia, Australia, the Americas, and the Pacific.

Read more from EarthSky: Tides, and the pull of the moon and sun

See photos of the December 2021 solar eclipse

EarthSky’s monthly planet guide: Visible planets and more

Posted 
January 1, 2022
 in 
Astronomy Essentials

Like what you read?
Subscribe and receive daily news delivered to your inbox.

Your email address will only be used for EarthSky content. Privacy Policy
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

More from 

Fred Espenak

View All