Enjoying EarthSky? Subscribe.

121,391 subscribers and counting ...

EarthSky // Earth, Human World, Science Wire Release Date: Mar 05, 2014

Watch online as asteroid sweeps within moon’s distance today

Watch online as asteroid 2014 DX110 sweep closer than the moon on Wednesday, March 5.

Known asteroid 2014 DX 110

Known asteroid 2014 DX 110

A known asteroid will sweep within 217,000 miles (about 350,000 kilometers) of Earth today (Wednesday, March 5, 2014). That is closer than the distance from Earth to the moon. The time will be about 2100 UTC (1 p.m. PST, 4 p.m. EST). You can watch online via the Virtual Telescope Project or via Slooh.com.

NASA says that – with current detection capabilities – it can see an asteroid passing this close about 20 times a year.

This asteroid, 2014 DX110, is estimated to be about 100 feet (30 meters) across. It is no threat to Earth.

Astronomers discovered 2014 DX110 on February 28, 2014 via the Pan-STARRS 1 survey. Its orbit was initially refined using follow up observations made by the Great Shefford Observatory in West Berkshire, England.

NASA detects, tracks and characterizes asteroids and comets using both ground- and space-based telescopes. The Near-Earth Object Observations Program, commonly called “Spaceguard,” discovers these objects, characterizes a subset of them and identifies their close approaches to determine if any could be potentially hazardous to our planet.

Read more from NASA about the March 5 asteroid pass.

More about NASA’s asteroid detection program.