Enjoying EarthSky? Subscribe.

254,678 subscribers and counting ...

Where’s the moon? Waning crescent

Will you see the moon Saturday morning from the Americas? Not likely, especially as the line of moonrise, and sunrise, edge farther west today. New moon will come on July 23 at 9:46 UTC.

Amirul Syazani in Port Dickson, Malaysia caught earthshine on the July 22, 2017 waning crescent moon. It’s very old moon on this date, that is, a moon close to starting a new lunation at new moon, which comes on July 23.

A waning crescent moon is sometimes called an old moon. It’s seen in the east before dawn. This month’s old moon recently swept past the brightest planet, Venus, and the star Aldebaran; see photos here. Since then, the moon has been showing us less and less of its lighted side each morning, and rising closer to the sunrise.

New moon will come on July 23, 2017 at 9:46 UTC. At North American time zones, that places the new moon at 6:46 a.m. ADT, 5:46 a.m. EDT, 4:46 a.m. CDT, 3:46 a.m. MDT, 2:46 a.m. PDT and 1:46 a.m. AKDT Sunday morning.

Karl Diefenderfer in Quakertown, Pennsylvania caught the old moon near Venus and Aldebaran on July 20, 2017. More photos here.

Because the moon is nearly on a line with the Earth and sun again, the day hemisphere of the moon is facing mostly away from us once more. Over the past several mornings, we’ve been seeing only a slender fraction of the moon’s day side: a crescent moon.

As the moon orbits Earth, it changes phase in an orderly way. Follow these links to understand the various phases of the moon.

Four keys to understanding moon phases

Where’s the moon? Waxing crescent
Where’s the moon? First quarter
Where’s the moon? Waxing gibbous
What’s special about a full moon?
Where’s the moon? Waning gibbous
Where’s the moon? Last quarter
Where’s the moon? Waning crescent
Where’s the moon? New phase

Moon in 2017: Phases, cycles, eclipses, supermoons and more

Deborah Byrd

MORE ARTICLES