Enjoying EarthSky? Subscribe.

125,601 subscribers and counting ...

By in
Human World | Space on Jun 13, 2014

When does Friday the 13th have a full moon?

The crest of the moon’s full phase this month comes on June 13, 2014 at 4:11 UTC. Click inside for past and future dates when Friday the 13th coincides with a full moon.

The moon turns astronomically full – resides most directly opposite the sun for this month – on June 13, 2014 at 4:11 UTC. Want to see some dates when a Friday, the 13th and a full moon fall on the same day? The list of dates below is from researchmaniacs.com. And, by the way, the last time the full moon fell on a Friday the 13 in the month of June was in 1919, and the next time will be in 2098. Here are past and future Friday the 13ths with full moons:

Friday Mar 13th 1903

Friday Oct 13th 1905

Friday Jun 13th 1919

Friday Jan 13th 1922

Friday Nov 13th 1970

Friday Jul 13th 1984

Friday Feb 13th 1987

Friday Mar 13th 1998

Friday Oct 13th 2000

Friday Jun 13th 2014

Friday Aug 13th 2049

Friday Apr 13th 2063

Friday Nov 13th 2065

Friday Feb 13th 2082

The time of this full moon (4:11 UTC on June 13, 2014) means that, for Western Hemisphere time zones, the moon reaches the crest of its full phase on Friday, June 13 at 12:11 a.m. EDT, but on Thursday, June 12 at 11:11 p.m. CDT, 10:11 p.m. MDT or 9:11 p.m. PDT. In other words, for us in the Western Hemisphere, the moon looks more full on the night of June 12 than on the night of June 13.

This full moon is the closest one to the June solstice on June 21. That means it rides low in the sky as seen from the N. Hemisphere and high in the sky as seen from the S. Hemisphere. We in this hemisphere will call this full moon a Honey Moon.

Bottom line: The crest of the moon’s full phase this month comes on June 13, 2014 at 4:11 UTC. Click inside for past and future dates when Friday the 13th coincides with a full moon.