Enjoying EarthSky? Subscribe.

110,547 subscribers and counting ...

By in
| Human World | Space on Feb 14, 2013

Look here for links to online viewing of asteroid 2012 DA14

On February 15, an asteroid passes only 17,200 miles from Earth. You won’t be able to see it with the eye. Bookmark the links in this post for online viewing!

There are two orbits shown here, Earth’s and asteroid 2012 DA14. The asteroid is the yellow dot, and Earth is green. The two orbits intersect twice each year. Image via Deimos-Space.

You won’t be able to see the February 15 asteroid flyby with the eye alone. But astronomical observatories with large telescopes will be capturing asteroid 2012 DA14 as it sweeps only 17,200 miles (within 28,000 kilometers) of Earth on February 15, 2013. Many observatories will capture photos and video, and some will be broadcasting online. Closest approach will be around 19:25 UTC (1:25 p.m. CST) on February 15. This will be when the asteroid will be at its brightest, but it’s not necessarily when you should look for the broadcasts (after all, the observatories have to look when it’s night in their location). There are links and times for public viewings of the event below. We’ll add more as we receive them. Remember, the asteroid flyby is Friday, February 15, 2013.

Learn more about the asteroid flyby here

Who will see the February 15 asteroid flyby?

Bareket Observatory in Israel is offering a free live webcast of the close approach on February 15 beginning at 20:15 UTC (2:15 p.m. Central Time in the U.S.), for a duration of about 3 hours. For more information, visit Baraket Observatory’s website. You’ll be automatically transfered to the live images, during the event.

Clay Center Observatory will offer real-time high-definition video, weather permitting, beginning at 1:00 UTC on February 16 (5 p.m. CST on February 15). Clay Center Observatory’s Ustream channel is here.

NASA Television will provide commentary starting at 19:00 UTC (1 p.m. CST) on February 15. The commentary will be streamed live online at http://www.nasa.gov/ntv and http://www.ustream.tv/nasajpl2.

Slooh Space Camera will cover the asteroid’s near-approach on Friday, February 15, with several live shows, free to the public, starting at 02:00 UTC on February 16 (8 p.m. CST). Find international times for Slooh at http://goo.gl/ythGd. Slooh will also have real-time commentary from their own Paul Cox, astronomer and author Bob Berman, and Prescott Observatory manager Matt Francis. Visit Slooh’s event page here.

Virtual Telescope Project, which calls itself “the most active facility in the world in astronomical science and education,” will also be following 2012 DA14 on February 15. Check out Virtual Telescope’s event page here.

Bottom line: Updated links to online viewing of the safe, close passage of near-Earth asteroid 2012 DA14.

Asteroid 2012 DA14 to sweep close on February 15, 2013

Think Friday’s close asteroid flyby is sobering? Look at this

Video: Watch the rate of asteroid discovery soar