Enjoying EarthSky? Subscribe.

121,372 subscribers and counting ...

By in
| Earth on Aug 31, 2012

7.6-magnitude earthquake in Philippines triggers tsunami warnings in Asia

This strong undersea earthquake triggered tsunami warnings along coastlines in much of Asia. No immediate reports of damage or injury.

Location of 7.6-magnitude earthquake on August 31, 2012.

A 7.6-magnitude earthquake struck off the eastern coast of the Philippines late Friday local time (August 31, 2012). The quake happened at 12:47 UTC (7:47 a.m. CDT). This strong undersea earthquake has triggered tsunami warnings along coastlines in much of Asia. There were no immediate reports of damage or injury.

A tsunami alert was in effect for the Philippines, Indonesia, Taiwan, Japan, Guam, the Northern Marianas and Papua New Guinea, the Pacific Tsunami Warning Center said. Japan was still under a tsunami advisory more than an hour after the quake, according to the Japan Meteorological Agency. A tsunami alert for Hawaii was issued and then cancelled.

The U.S. Geological Society (USGS) originally reported this quake as a 7.9-magnitude, but later updated to say it was slightly less powerful at 7.6-magnitude.

This map is not interactive. It shows the location of the August 31, 2012 7.6-magnitude earthquake near the Philippines. For the interactive map, click on USGS’ page.

Details of the quake are as follows:

Event Time
2012-08-31 12:47:34 UTC
2012-08-31 20:47:34 UTC+08:00 at epicenter
2012-08-31 07:47:34 UTC-05:00 system time

Nearby Cities
96km (60mi) E of Sulangan, Philippines
109km (68mi) ESE of Guiuan, Philippines
162km (101mi) ESE of Borongan, Philippines
176km (109mi) NE of Surigao, Philippines
747km (464mi) ESE of Manila, Philippines

Bottom line: A 7.6-magnitude undersea earthquake struck near the Philippines on August 31, 2012 at 12:47 UTC (7:47 a.m. CDT). It triggered tsunami warnings throughout Asia. There were no immediate reports of damage or injury.