Enjoying EarthSky? Subscribe.

126,461 subscribers and counting ...

By in
| Earth on Jan 30, 2013

5.3-magnitude earthquake off coast of Oregon on January 29

Quake occurred 170 miles (274 kilometers) off Oregon coast. No tsunami warning. No reports of damages or injuries.

January 29, 2013 5.3-magnitude earthquake

The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) reported a 5.3-magnitute earthquake 170 miles (274 kilometers) off the coast of Oregon overnight. The Pacific Tsunami Warning Center did not issue a tsunami warning, and there were no immediate reports of damage or injuries.

Here are the details of the quake, from the USGS:

Event Time
2013-01-30 03:14:28 UTC
2013-01-29 18:14:28 UTC-09:00 at epicenter
2013-01-29 21:14:28 UTC-06:00 system time

Location
43.566°N 127.598°W
depth=10.2km (6.4mi)

Nearby Cities
263km (163mi) WNW of Bandon, Oregon
274km (170mi) W of Coos Bay, Oregon
347km (216mi) W of Roseburg, Oregon
364km (226mi) WSW of Corvallis, Oregon
395km (245mi) WSW of Salem, Oregon

January 29, 2013 earthquake off coast of Oregon.

For more, go to USGS’ page.

Bottom line: 5.3-magnitude earthquake off Oregon coast on January 29, 2013.