Enjoying EarthSky? Subscribe.

115,421 subscribers and counting ...

By in
| Earth on May 24, 2013

5.7-magnitude earthquake in northern California last night

This is a relatively large quake, even for California, but there are no reports of injuries or damages so far from the May 23, 2013 quake.

The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) reported a 5.7-magnitude earthquake in northern California last night (May 23 at 8:47 p.m. Pacific Daylight Time. The quake happened 113 miles (182 km) north-northeast of Sacramento, California. We are not seeing any reports of injuries or damages. Details of the quake below:

Event Time
2013-05-24 03:47:08 UTC
2013-05-23 20:47:08 UTC-07:00 at epicenter
2013-05-23 22:47:08 UTC-05:00 system time

Location
40.190°N 121.061°W

Depth=11.0km (6.8mi)

Nearby Cities
11km (7mi) WNW of Greenville, California
43km (27mi) SW of Susanville, California
60km (37mi) NE of Magalia, California
67km (42mi) NE of Paradise, California
159km (99mi) NW of Carson City, Nevada

More details about the May 23, 2013 California earthquake here.

A 4.9-magnitude quake struck a few hours later, just after 1 a.m. on May 24. Read about the aftershock here.

May 23, 2013 5.7-magnitude earthquake in northern California.

May 23, 2013 5.7-magnitude earthquake in northern California.

Bottom line: 5.7-magnitude earthquake and 4.9-magnitude aftershock in northern California on May 23-24, 2013.