Eleanor Imster

Watch spacewalk March 22

NASA TV will air 3 upcoming spacewalks by ISS astronauts, the first of which happens tomorrow, March 22. Coverage begins at 10:30 UTC (6:30 a.m. EDT). The spacewalk is scheduled to start at 12:05 UTC (8:05 a.m. EDT) and last 6.5 hours.

Planets in perspective

Morning planets in front of the Milky Way identifying the ecliptic and the galactic plane.

Storm in a cosmic teacup

Nicknamed the Teacup because of its shape, this quasar is causing a cosmic storm in a distant galaxy. The source of the squall is a supermassive black hole buried at a galaxy’s center.

Venus, Saturn, Jupiter

These 3 planets – 2 very bright ones and a fainter one – are lined up in the early morning sky now, nearly equidistant from each other.

A new species of killer whale?

In January, scientists captured footage of what might be a new species of killer whale near Antarctica.

Frozen waves on Lake Michigan

Frozen waves on Lake Michigan, in a photo by Glenn Hughson.

Galaxy with a tail

This striking image shows just a part of the spectacular tail emerging from a spiral galaxy nicknamed D100.

A sign of spring

A bluebird on a snowy day in Massachusetts is a sign that spring is coming.

Green iceberg

Why are some icebergs green?

A new idea might solve a decades-long scientific mystery about why some Antarctic icebergs are tinged emerald green rather than the normal blue.

Moon, Mars and me

Niko Powe waved a sparkler at the starry sky. He wrote, “Sirius, Orion, Hyades, Pleiades, the moon, Mars, and me.”