Cape Horn along Ebbetts Pass National Scenic Byway

Ebbetts Pass — a high mountain pass of the Sierra Nevada range in Alpine County – is part of the Ebbetts Pass National Scenic Byway, a 61-mile stretch of California State Highways 4 and 89 in Calaveras and Alpine counties, between the towns of Arnold and Markleeville. It includes expansive views of granite outcrops, basalt columns, ancient volcanic peaks, deep river canyons, glacially carved valleys, majestic stands of conifers including giant sequoias, open meadows, clear mountain lakes, and swiftly flowing streams and rivers. All can be experienced along the route. This recommendation did come with a heads-up that “Hwy. 4 in Alpine County is not snowplowed in the winter.”

February 3, 2019

Like what you read?
Subscribe and receive daily news delivered to your inbox.

Your email address will only be used for EarthSky content. Privacy Policy
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

More from 

Chelynne Campion

View All
No items found.