6.0-magnitude earthquake struck southern Iran May 11

The May 11 earthquake epicenter was near the Persian Gulf, very far from Iran’s capital city of Tehran. At least 15 killed.

Southern Iran shook early Saturday morning (May 11, 2013) from a 6.0-magnitude earthquake that injured at least 15 people, according to Iranian state TV (via RT). The earthquake’s epicenter was near the Persian Gulf, very far from Iran’s capital city of Tehran. So far there have been no reports of damage or death from the quake. A 5.5-magnitude aftershock also occurred in the region.

Here are the details of the 6.0-magnitude quake from the U.S. Geological Survey:

Event Time
2013-05-11 02:08:11 UTC
2013-05-11 06:38:11 UTC+04:30 at epicenter
2013-05-10 21:08:11 UTC-05:00 system time
Location

26.784°N 57.880°E depth=14.0km (8.7mi)

Nearby Cities
89km (55mi) ESE of Minab, Iran
160km (99mi) E of Qeshm, Iran
164km (102mi) ESE of Bandar ‘Abbas, Iran
175km (109mi) ENE of Khasab, Oman
358km (222mi) NNW of Muscat, Oman

6.0-magnitude earthquake in southern Iran on May 11, 2013.

6.0-magnitude earthquake in southern Iran on May 11, 2013. Image via USGS.

The quake was felt most strongly alongthe shore of the Strait of Hormuz, a strategic trade point for the international oil market.

On April 16, 2013, a massive 7.8 magnitude earthquake in southeastern Iran sent tremors throughout the Persian Gulf states and India, killing dozens of people and injuring over 100.

In 2003, a 6.6-magnitude quake killed more than 26,000 people and destroyed the historic city of Bam.

Bottom line: A 6.0-magnitude earthquake struck southern Iran on Saturday, May 11, 2013. At least 15 people are reported killed.

Deborah Byrd