Enjoying EarthSky? Subscribe.

102,768 subscribers and counting ...

Impress your Valentine with these February full moon names

Photo of full moon by John Michael Mizzi

Tonight for February 14, 2014

John Michael Mizzi of the island of Gozo (Malta) took the photo above.

The moon turns full today – February 14, 2014 – on what we in the U.S. celebrate as Valentine’s Day. Do you celebrate it in your country? If so, happy V-Day! If not … we love you anyway. Today’s full moon is the second full moon after the December solstice. It reaches the crest of its full phase at 23:53 Universal Time. That’s 6:53 p.m. EST, 5:53 p.m. CST, 4:53 p.m. MST or 3:53 p.m. PST. The bright star near the full moon is Regulus, the brightest star in the constellation Leo the Lion.

Want to impress your Valentine with some names for the February full moon? In North America, we often call this particular full moon the Wolf Moon, Snow Moon or Hunger Moon. We’ve also heard the name Ice Moon for this full moon. Click here for a list all the full moons

But the February full moon can assume any number of different names. It was called the Snow-blinding Moon by the Micmac people in eastern Canada. This full moon was the Wind Moon to the San Ildefonso of the Southwest. And it was the Blackbear Moon to the Kutenai of the Northwest. The list could go on and on, as evidenced by Keith’s Moon Page.

We Love Our Fans Sale going on now. Order your 2014 EarthSky lunar calendar today at a 50% discount!

A planisphere is virtually indispensable for beginning stargazers. Order your EarthSky Planisphere today.

A simulation of the new Earth as seen at the instant of the February full moon (14 January at 23:53 Universal Time). Image credit: Earth and Moon Viewer

A simulation of the new Earth at the instant of the February full moon (14 January at 23:53 Universal Time). In other words, this hemisphere of Earth is facing the moon at the instant we on Earth see the moon as most full. Could you see Earth from the moon then? Not likely. It’s daytime on the near side of the moon then, and Earth is lost in the sun’s glare, much like a new moon is from Earth. Image via Earth and Moon Viewer

Every full moon stands opposite – or nearly opposite – the sun. Try noticing how high above the horizon you see the moon tonight. Its distance above the horizon indicates approximately how far below the opposite horizon the sun is at that time.

Any time you see the moon near the horizon, it might have an orange or reddish color. The reason is Earth’s own atmosphere. The moon’s (or sun’s) light must pass through a greater thickness of atmosphere when rising or setting (that is, when it is near the horizon) than when overhead. Since the atmosphere scatters the bluish component of light, while allowing the redder light to travel straight through to our eyes, objects often appear redder than normal when near the horizon. So any moon, full or not, may look reddish when seen near the horizon.

This year, the full moon falls on February 14, Valentine’s Day. The phases of the moon recur on (or near) the same calendar dates every 19 years. So the full moon won’t come on Valentine’s Day again until February 14, 2033! After that, a Valentine’s Day full moon will occur on February 14, 2052, on February 14, 2071 and February 14, 2090!

Phases of the moon: 2001 to 2100

Bottom line: Valentine’s moon! The moon is full on Valentine’s Day 2014. Some names for the February full moon. Also, watch tonight as the moon and star Regulus travel together across the sky tonight from dusk until dawn.

What makes a halo around the moon?

Looking for a sky almanac? EarthSky recommends …