Enjoying EarthSky? Subscribe.

264,568 subscribers and counting ...

Solstice comes on June 21

Happy June solstice, everyone! If you’re in the Northern Hemisphere, the June solstice is your signal to celebrate summer. If you’re in the Southern Hemisphere, winter starts today. This 2018 June solstice takes place on June 21 at 10:07 UTC; translate to your time zone. In North America and the U.S. time zones, that’s June 21 at 7:07 a.m. ADT and 6:07 a.m. EDT, 5:07 a.m. CDT, 4:07 a.m. MDT, 3:07 a.m. PDT, 2:07 a.m. AKDT (Alaskan Daylight Time) and 12:07 a.m. HAST (Hawaiian-Aleutian Standard Time). At the instant of this June 2018 solstice, it’s sunrise in the Americas and sunset in Japan and Indonesia. The sun is at zenith (straight overhead) over in South Africa, not far from Polokwane (Pietersburg). The solstice happens at the same instant for all of us, everywhere on Earth; only our clocks and calendars are different. Check out the links below to learn more about this 2018 June solstice.

All you need to know: June solstice 2018

Summer solstice as seen from Stonehenge

Watching solstices and equinoxes from space

Why the hottest weather isn’t on the longest day

Worldwide map via the US Naval Observatory shows the day and night sides of Earth at the instant of the June solstice (2018 June 21 at 10:07 UTC). It’s sunrise in the Americas, noon in Africa, and sunset in Japan and Indonesia.

Bottom line: The 2018 June or summer solstice takes place on June 21, 2018, at 10:07 Universal Time (5:07 a.m. CDT); translate to your time zone. This solstice marks the sun’s most northerly point in Earth’s sky. It’s an event that has been celebrated by people throughout the ages. Enjoy!

Looking for an almanac? EarthSky recommends . . .

Bruce McClure