Enjoying EarthSky? Subscribe.

117,213 subscribers and counting ...

EarthSky // Today's Image Release Date: Jul 12, 2014

Supermoon, July 12, 3:16 a.m.

The moon is past full now, but it’ll look full by Saturday night in North America. The moon will be closest to Earth Sunday morning at 3:37 a.m. (8:27 UTC).

Moon early in the morning on July 12, 2014, a few hours before the crest of its full phase.  Photo by Spencer Mann.

Moon early in the morning on July 12, 2014, a few hours before the crest of its full phase. Photo by Spencer Mann.

We received so many wonderful photos of last night’s moon, the July 2014 supermoon! It reached the crest of its full phase this morning at 6:25 a.m. CDT. (11:25 UTC). Spencer Mann in North Oaks, Minnesota captured this photo just 3 hours before full moon, at 3:16 a.m. CDT (8:16 UTC). He wrote:

It was overcast tonight in Minnesota, but the clouds cleared up enough that I could see the full moon a few hours before opposition. The cloud layer created an interesting glow around the moon that isn’t apparent on clear nights. Luckily, the mosquitoes were too busy biting me to occupy the intervening space between the camera lens and the moon.

Canon SX500 IS + Tripod

Thank you, Spencer, and thanks to all who posted your wonderful supermoon photos at EarthSky Facebook.

Want to see your photos on EarthSky?
Upload or share them today on Facebook or Google+.