Enjoying EarthSky? Subscribe.

120,609 subscribers and counting ...

EarthSky // Today's Image Release Date: Jan 30, 2014

Old moon, red in the morning, from Hong Kong

A waning crescent moon like this one – seen only shortly before the dawn – is called an old moon. New moon comes on January 30, 2014 at 21:38 UTC.

View larger. | Photo by Daniel Chang in Hong Kong.

View larger. | According to Hong Kong clocks and calendars, it was 6:27 a.m. on January 30, 2014 when Daniel Chang captured this old moon, red in the morning sky. Visit Daniel Chang’s Facebook page.

The January 30 new moon is the second new moon for January 2014. It’s also a supermoon. Daniel Chang in Hong Kong captured the moon only 23 hours before the exact new phase, at 22:27 UTC on January 29. According to his clock, it was 6:27 a.m. Hong Kong Time today (January 30).

In skylore, a waning crescent moon like this one – a moon seen only shortly before the dawn – is called an old moon.

New moon comes today at 21:38 UTC. That is 3:38 p.m. CST (the time in the central U.S.).

Thank you, Daniel!

Second supermoon of the month falls on January 30, 2014

Understanding new moon

Want to see your photos on EarthSky?
Upload or share them today on Facebook or Google+.