Enjoying EarthSky? Subscribe.

110,496 subscribers and counting ...

By in
| Earth on Aug 30, 2013

Magnitude 7.0 earthquake rocks Alaska’s Aleutian Islands

A 7.0-magnitude earthquake struck near Adak, Alaska earlier today (August 30, 2013). No immediate reports of injuries or serious damage. No tsunami warning.

There are no immediate reports of damage or injuries from the major earthquake – magnitude 7.0 – that struck near the Alaskan village of Adak, 1,200 miles southwest of Anchorage, earlier today. The quake occurred at at 4:25 a.m. local time, on August 30, 2013. Multiple aftershocks followed, including one measuring magnitude 4.5. No tsunami warning was issued.

August 30, 2013 earthquake

August 30, 2013 earthquake

AP reported that the shaking near Adak lasted up to one minute. ABCNews.com reported:

… a jet-like rumble that shook homes and sent residents scrambling for cover.

Michael Burgy with the West Coast and Alaska Tsunami Warning Center in Palmer, Alaska, told AP reporters that the Alaska Earthquake Information Center is monitoring for potential tsunamis caused by landslides, either on land or under water.

Here are the details of the quake, from the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS):

Event Time
2013-08-30 16:25:02 UTC
2013-08-30 04:25:02 UTC-12:00 at epicenter
2013-08-30 11:25:02 CDT

Location
51.610°N 175.361°W

Depth=33.5km (20.8mi)

Nearby Cities
94km (58mi) ESE of Adak, Alaska
1520km (944mi) SSE of Anadyr’, Russia
1769km (1099mi) E of Petropavlovsk-Kamchatskiy, Russia
1785km (1109mi) E of Yelizovo, Russia
2649km (1646mi) W of Whitehorse, Canada

Bottom line: A 7.0-magnitude earthquake struck in Alaska in the early morning hours (local time) of August 30, 2013. No immediate reports of injuries or serious damage. No tsunami warning