Enjoying EarthSky? Subscribe.

121,372 subscribers and counting ...

By in
Earth on Mar 25, 2013

6.2 magnitude earthquake strikes near Guatemala City

On March 25, 2013, a 6.2-magnitude earthquake struck six miles from Guatemala City. No reports of injuries or damages. No tsunami warning.

March 25, 2013 earthquake in Guatemala

March 25, 2013 earthquake in Guatemala

The USGS has reported a 6.2-magnitude earthquake, which struck just six miles from Guatemala City today – March 25, 2013 – at 23:02 UTC, or 6:02 p.m. Central Daylight Time in the U.S. There are no immediate reports of casualties or deaths, and residents of Guatemala City told reporters for the Associated Press that they “barely felt the quake.” There was no Pacific-wide tsunami warning.

Here are the details of today’s earthquake, from USGS:

Event Time
2013-03-25 23:02:14 UTC
2013-03-25 17:02:14 UTC-06:00 at epicenter

Location
14.599°N 90.428°W depth=200.5km (124.6mi)

Nearby Cities
6km (4mi) NNW of San Jose Pinula, Guatemala
8km (5mi) ENE of Santa Catarina Pinula, Guatemala
10km (6mi) ESE of Guatemala City, Guatemala
10km (6mi) SW of Palencia, Guatemala
14km (9mi) SSE of Chinautla, Guatemala

According to Associated Press:

In November 2012, a magnitude-7.4 earthquake left 42 people dead in Guatemala. The quake, which was just 32 kilometers (20 mile) deep, was centered off the coastal town of Champerico. It was the strongest earthquake to hit Guatemala since a 1976 temblor that killed 23,000.

Bottom line: On March 25, 2013, a 6.2-magnitude earthquake struck six miles from Guatemala City. No reports of injuries or damages. No tsunami warning.